Alla inlägg den 24 mars 2014

Av Kasia - 24 mars 2014 15:44

Together with my Boy’s growing building interest we have gradually become a LEGO family. Somewhere around Christmas we lost a dining room’s table due to LEGO expansion.

I am trying to participate, because moms can too!!! I introduce house on a tree/garden/grill/casual “human” activities but I am BORED TO DEATH after a while because it always ends with cars/castles/boats/missiles etc.

So finally I came up with a fantastic idea how NOT to be bored while building LEGO with my Son.

I claimed half of the dining room’s table and I made it to my jigsaw puzzle station.

 

Problem solved! Sometimes we sit together in total silence SEVERAL MINUTES and just enjoy our separate activities together.

***

Why is puzzling beneficial for people like me? Stressed weirdos, that is.

When I start a 1000-1500 pieces work there is no meaning or use in trying to proceed as fast as possible. It must take its time. I learn to observe each piece at a time; I learn how to patiently just familiarize myself with the motive.

When I work there is enough space for me to observe my physical reactions. My pulse rising, my eyeballs chasing several details simultaneously. The more I struggle the poorer results. So I lean back, breathe and redirect myself back to the slow motion.

I train my muscle of SINGLEPOINTED ATTENTION. It is almost like meditation.

If you ever have a chance to put your hands on one of Jan van Haasteren’s works, do not hesitate. They are lovely, very detailed and funny pictures. No matter what motive it is, you can always find a shark’s fin or a Santa hidden somewhere, or a toothbrush. I fell in love with them anyway. It is nothing like fluffy kittens, waterfalls or even Eiffel tower against a completely blue sky ;)


Love to All.

Btw, according to my husband’s definition LEGO is a three dimensional puzzle with your own motive. Clever!   

Presentation


Embracing the NOW, Zebra-style.

Links

Ask Kasia

16 besvarade frågor

Latest Posts

Categories

Archive

Guest Book

Calendar

Ti On To Fr
         
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31
<<< Mars 2014 >>>

Tidigare år

Search

Statistics


Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards